What is 802.11 and What are its Many Standards?

802.11 and its Standards

People often face an array of choices and confusing abbreviations, whenever they look to buy new wireless networking equipments such as wireless extender, wifi router etc. Many products have wireless standards such as 802.11ac, 802.11a, 802.11b/g/n etc. which is a simple term are known as Wi-Fi technologies.

Current wireless extenders come with different wifi technologies such as wifi range extender 802.11ac or wifi range extender 802.11n etc with respect to one which were available not too long ago. However, there still are various other wireless technologies which are designed for specific networking applications.

This article describes the Wi-Fi technology and its many standards that let you understand the evolution of Wi-Fi technology and makes you understand the basics of network planning and teaches you which networking equipment to buy for it.

What is 802.11?

802.11 was the first wireless standard which was developed by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) for WLAN technology in 1997. 802.11 supported the network bandwidth of maximum 2 Mbps which was too slow for most applications. Due to this reason, 802.11 wireless products are no longer manufactured. However, an entire family has been formed from this initial wireless standard and each of them have their own particular role in providing flawless wireless connectivity.

This family of 802.11 standard, comprises of a number of networking standards that cover the physical layer specifications of technologies. The IEEE 802.11 is further divided into 22 parts that cover the physical and data-link aspects of networking. 801.11aj is the most recently approved standard.

We will quickly discuss the basics of each of these 802.11 Wi-Fi standards. We shall start from the most recently approved iterations, and move towards the older ones from there.

  1. 802.11aj:

Also known as China Millimeter Wave, this standard is basically a rebranding of 802.11ad and applies in China. The main goal is to maintain backward compatibility with 802.11ad. This standard was approved in November 2017.

  1. 802.11ah:

The 802.11ah is also known as Wi-Fi Halow which was approved in May 2017. The purpose of this standard is to create extended-range Wi-Fi networks that can go beyond the reach of typical 2.4GHz and 5GHznetwork. In addition, the standard targets to have lower energy consumption which is useful for wireless devices to communicate across long ranges without using a lot of energy.

  1. 802.11ad:

This standard was approved in December 2012. The 802.11ad is very fast that can provide up to 6.7 Gbps of data rate across the 60GHz Frequency. However, you can achieve this only if the client device is located within 11 feet of the access point.

  1. 802.11ac:

802.11ac is the successor of 802.11n wireless standard. Current wireless routers and extenders are based on 802.11ac wireless technology, and operate in the 5 GHz frequency band. This standard offers backward compatibility to 802.11b/g/n and bandwidth rated up to 1300 Mbps on the 5 GHz band & up to 450 Mbps on 2.4 GHz.

Wifi range extender 802.11ac wireless technology is featured with multi-user (MU-MIMO). MU-MIMO can direct the spatial streams to multiple clients simultaneously that can increase the overall data throughput of the entire network. 802.11ac has maximum speed and best signal range but expensive to implement. Its performance can be noticed in high-bandwidth applications.

We recommend you to buy the wifi range extender 802.11ac and you will experience the fast network bandwidth speed and flexibility.

  1. 802.11n:

802.11n also known as Wireless N was approved in October 2009 and allows for usage in two frequencies – 2.4GHz and 5GHz, with speeds up to 600Mbps. 802.11n was the first standard to specify MIMO that offers somewhat better range over earlier Wi-Fi standards due to its increased signal intensity, and it is backward-compatible with 802.11b/g gear. It is more expensive to implement than 802.11g.

You can also go for a wifi range extender 802.11n because there are so many wireless devices in the market with this standard. This wireless standard can give you fast speed as compared to previous versions.

  1. 802.11g:

A new standard called 802.11g was approved in June 2003 which supported WLAN products. The 802.11g wireless standard was the successor to 802.11b, which means 802.11g access points will work with 802.11b wireless network adapters and vice versa. It supports bandwidth up to 54 Mbps & uses the 2.4 GHz frequency for greater range.

  1. 802.11a:

IEEE created 802.11a standard in 1997 while 802.11b was in development. 802.11a is usually found on business networks due to its higher cost. 802.11a wireless standard operates at the frequency of 5GHz and supports bandwidth up to 54 Mbps.

  1. 802.11b

802.11b standard was released in July 1999 that operates in the 2.4GHz frequency and provides speed up to 11 Mbps. Companies often prefer to use these frequencies to lower their production costs. Being unregulated, it can bear interference from microwave ovens, cordless phones, and other appliances using the same 2.4 GHz range.

While selecting the wireless extender, it is important to check the series of your existing router at home. If you have an N- series router then buying wifi range extender 802.11ac is a waste of money. However, if you are looking to cover your entire home, then choosing the WicommFi wifi range extender 802.11ac could be beneficial as this is an improved standard as compared to the one available in a wifi range extender 802.11n.

WicommFi wireless extenders are equipped with wireless ac technology i.e. 802.11ac, which will enable you to experience a blazing fast wireless speed. Improving wifi range in your office or home required you to purchase the best wifi range extender which is none other than the WicommFi range extenders. It is featured with a WPS setup, QR code easy setup and has Dual bands i.e. 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz with transmission speed up to 750 Mbps. You can get more details about the WicommFi extender by accessing the website http://www.wicommfi.com/.